Into The Pixel is an annual juried art exhibition that brings together experts from the traditional fine art world and the interactive entertainment industry to display and discuss the art of the video game. 2012 will be the ninth showing of the Into The Pixel art collection, and attendees to E3 have been invited to the gallery opening next week at the Los Angeles Convention Centre. The 16 winners of this years collection were unveiled this week by The Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS) and the Entertainment Software Association (ESA).

“The Academy is pleased to partner with the ESA to celebrate the finest art in video games from the year,” said Martin Rae, president, Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences. “This year’s collection exhibits incredible creativity. We’re looking forward to unveiling this year’s collection at E3 and sharing it worldwide at other industry events!”

The 2012 Into the Pixel winners are listed below, and their artwork can be viewed here:

Title of Artwork Game








Arabian Night



Crazy Fairies



Fan Xiao Qing



Spicy Horse Games



Spicy Horse Games



Mass Effect 3



Ben Huen






Electronic Arts



Battle Charge



Assassin’s Creed III



William Wu



Ubisoft Montreal






Broken Overpass



The Last of Us



Shaddy Safadi



Naughty Dog



Sony Computer Entertainment America, LLC



Gravity Daze



Gravity Rush



Takeshi Oga



Sony Computer Entertainment Worldwide Studios – Japan Studio



Sony Computer Entertainment






Wild East



Eytan Zana, Cliff Childs, Tyler West



Double Helix Games, West Studios



Leah Close-up


Diablo III


Nick Carpenter, Graham Cunningham, Xin Wang, Chris Thunig, Fausto De Martini, Mathias Verhasselt, Till Aschwanden, Fin Teo, John Lanz


Blizzard Entertainment


Activision Blizzard


Little Insmouth




Willy Hwang, Alex Ahad


Reverge Labs


Autumn Games




Guild Wars 2


Daniel Dociu






Refinery Entrance


Ghost Recon: Future Soldier


Susan Luo


Red Storm Entertainment


Ubisoft Entertainment






Sergey Kolesov


Arkane Studios


Bethesda Softworks




Dota 2


Jim Murray


Valve Software


Valve Software




Akaneiro: Demon Hunters


Ben Kerslake, Sun Guo Liang


Spicy Horse Games


Spicy Horse Games


Spire Vista


Halo 4


John Wallin Liberto


343 Industries




The 2048 Grid


Wipeout 2048


Darren Douglas


Studio Liverpool


Sony Computer Entertainment Europe


The Call to Adventure




Matt Nava




Sony Computer Entertainment America, LLC




More stuff like this: