This is obviously subject to change over the coming months, but as it stands right now Xbox One will only work in certain countries (highlighted in green above) at launch:

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and the United States.

This information comes from the Xbox website, which states: “Xbox One games are for activation and distribution only in specified geographic regions.”

There are plans to launch in Asia a year later, but no mention yet about what Africa can expect.