All teams have now been finalised as we work our way through the group stages of The International this week. The Wild Card playoffs produced some exciting competitive play, resulting in the final main event spots being taken by Korean team MVP Phoenix and Chinese group CDEC. The schedule for the group and main event stages is available on The International’s website, and replays of the matches will be made available as the tournament progresses.

[Update] For the current standings after Group Stages Day 3 you can go here.

The 16 teams and their groups are:

Group A:
  • Cloud9
  • compLexity Gaming
  • Fnatic
  • Invictus Gaming
  • LGD Gaming
  • MVP Phoenix
  • Team Secret
  • Natus Vincere
Group B:
  • CDEC Gaming
  • Evil Geniuses
  • MVP Hot6ix
  • NewBee
  • Team Empire
  • Vici Gaming
  • Virtus Pro


Both groups contain a few standout favourites to make it through to the top eight in this year’s competition. Team Secret and LGD should shine in group A due to their recent competitive form, while in group B, Vici Gaming and Evil Geniuses look to top the table with many recent tournament wins of their own. The matches played during the group stage will consist of teams playing every other team in their group in a best of 2 format. The top four teams in each group will move on to the upper bracket in the main event while the bottom four teams will then take the lower bracket positions. The group stages run until the 30th of July, following which the main event will take place.

More stuff like this: